PathFinder Force special covering 10 airfields of 8 Group

8 Group was re-constituted when Bomber Command's Pathfinder Force was renamed No. 8 (Pathfinder Force) Group on 8 January 1943. The group consisted of specialist squadrons that marked targets for the main attacks of Bomber Command aircraft. The Force, which had been formed in August 1942 with five Squadrons from the existing Bomber Command Groups flying a mix of Short Stirlings, Handley Page Halifaxes, Avro Lancasters and Vickers Wellingtons. When new aircraft, such as the de Havilland Mosquito became available, 8 Group got the first ones. Its aircraft used navigation aids such as Gee, H2S and Oboe to find the targets of attack more accurately than the main force on its own could. Initially five squadrons, 8 Group ultimately grew to a strength of 19 squadrons.

RAF Bourn
RAF Downham Market
RAF Graveley
RAF Gransden Lodge
RAF Little Staughton
RAF Marham
RAF Oakington
RAF Upwood
RAF Warboys
RAF Wyton